Mark M. Cheser 35 Years of Criminal Defense Experience
If you need us, we're nearby.
866-456-9864 Call us 24/7!

Minor drunk driving infractions come with big consequences

It's a misnomer to think that any drunk driving charge is "minor." If you're facing a drunk driving allegation, it means that you've been through the harrowing experience of being arrested and booked in jail, and this is not an easy experience for anyone.

The fragility of your rights as a human being becomes apparent as soon as a police officer puts you in handcuffs. The booking process at the local jail will be even more difficult to endure. You'll find yourself being searched, having your personal possessions taken from you, and then you'll be placed in a holding cell while you supposedly "sober up" and wait for someone to come get you -- usually the next morning.

The legal consequences of a minor DWI conviction

Beyond the demeaning and frightening effects of getting arrested and accused of a serious crime, however, a DWI charge comes with the risk of conviction and punishment.

Imagine, for example, that you've been charged with the lightest of all DWI offenses in New Jersey because -- when you took the Breathalyzer test -- you blew a 0.09 percent blood alcohol content level.

Here are the potential consequences of a DUI in New Jersey for someone with a BAC of between .08 and .10 percent:

  • The possibility of spending a maximum of 30 days in prison;
  • Fines of $250 to $400;
  • A $230 fee for mandatory attendance at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) plus 12 to 48 hours of attendance at the IDRC;
  • A $100 payment to the drunk driving fund;
  • A $100 payment to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF);
  • A surcharge of $1,000 annually for three years; and
  • $75 paid to the Neighborhood Services Fund.

Can I defend myself against my DUI charges?

A court may take your side during your criminal proceedings if you can successfully defend yourself against your DWI charges. Indeed, countless people are wrongly accused of DWI in New Jersey every year. Some of them end up getting convicted even though the charges are unfounded, and others are successful in getting their charges dropped or dismissed.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.

Email Us For A Response

Get started on your defense today. Contact us now.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Union Office
2424 Morris Ave.
Suite 202
Union, NJ 07083

Toll Free: 866-456-9864
Union Law Office

Middlesex County
Metro Park Center
33 Wood Ave South
Iselin, NJ 08830

Map & Directions

Middlesex County
197 State Route 18 South
East Brunswick, NJ 08816

Map & Directions

Somerset County
1200 Route 22 East
East Bridgewater, NJ 08807

Map & Directions

Monmouth County
Freehold Center
4400 Route 9
South Freehold, NJ 07728

Map & Directions

Morris County
Madison Avenue Center
55 Madison Avenue
Morristown, NJ 07960

Map & Directions

Mercer County
Princeton Center
116 Village Boulevard
Princeton, NJ 08540

Map & Directions

Essex County
Gateway Center
One Gateway Center
Newark, NJ 07102

Map & Directions