Mark M. Cheser 35 Years of Criminal Defense Experience
If you need us, we're nearby.
866-456-9864 Call us 24/7!

What happens if a teen is charged with an underage DUI?

Getting a driver's license is a coming-of-age accomplishment for many teenagers. However, that license can quickly be taken away, especially if the teen decides to drink and drive. In New Jersey, there are significant penalties for those who are charged with underage DUI.

Those who are under the age of 21 should remember that the penalties for DUI also apply to operating a boat. If an underage driver of a motor vehicle or a boat is found to have a blood alcohol level of .01 percent, then he or she can be charged with underage DUI. The penalties for a conviction on such a charge are:

-- A license suspension of 30 to 90 days

-- Depending on the circumstances, the underage driver could be facing DUI mandatory fines and penalties

-- Community service of 15 to 30 days

-- Participation and completion of highway safety programs and alcohol education classes

If the underage driver is not 17 and has not received his or her driver's license yet, there would be a wait of an additional 30 to 90 days before receiving a license.

It is important for those charged with drunk driving to have effective counsel in court. A charge such as this underage DUI can have lasting consequences. In addition to the above penalties, the driver's insurance rates could skyrocket.

It may be tempting for an underage driver facing a DWI to simply plead guilty and be done; however, it is better to present a strong defense against the charge. This is why an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney can be so valuable.

Source: State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Division, "Underage DUI" Oct. 08, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.

Email Us For A Response

Get started on your defense today. Contact us now.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Union Office
2424 Morris Ave.
Suite 202
Union, NJ 07083

Toll Free: 866-456-9864
Union Law Office

Middlesex County
Metro Park Center
33 Wood Ave South
Iselin, NJ 08830

Map & Directions

Middlesex County
197 State Route 18 South
East Brunswick, NJ 08816

Map & Directions

Somerset County
1200 Route 22 East
East Bridgewater, NJ 08807

Map & Directions

Monmouth County
Freehold Center
4400 Route 9
South Freehold, NJ 07728

Map & Directions

Morris County
Madison Avenue Center
55 Madison Avenue
Morristown, NJ 07960

Map & Directions

Mercer County
Princeton Center
116 Village Boulevard
Princeton, NJ 08540

Map & Directions

Essex County
Gateway Center
One Gateway Center
Newark, NJ 07102

Map & Directions