Union County Attorney To Fight Your Reckless Driving Charge

Whether or not you are charged with reckless or careless driving is up to the discretion of the officer who pulls you over. As a result, if you were on a cellphone, eating or driving in a way judged to be erratic, you can be cited for reckless or careless driving. Both charges carry the possibility of jail, fines and points against your driver's license if you are convicted. However, since reckless and careless driving are matters of judgment reserved for the officer who pulls you over, in many cases the charges can be reduced or dismissed during an Administrative Hearing with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). If the charges are reduced or dismissed, you could save thousands of dollars in increased insurance costs alone.

Before you plead guilty to a charge of reckless or careless driving, contact Union, New Jersey, reckless driving defense lawyer Mark M. Cheser today to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.

Reckless Driving Charges In New Jersey

Under § 39:4-96 of New Jersey state law, reckless driving is defined as driving in a manner that displays a wanton disregard for the rights, property and safety of others. If convicted, you face up to 60 days in jail and a fine between $50 and $200. In cases involving excessive speeding, it's not uncommon for a driver to be ticketed with reckless driving as well. Depending on how fast you were driving, your speeding ticket could result in two, four or five points against your license — in addition to five points for reckless driving. In New Jersey, your license will be automatically suspended if you accumulate 12 or more points against your driver's license over a two-year period.

Careless Driving Charges In New Jersey

Under § 39:4-97 of New Jersey state law, careless driving involves driving without "due caution" or "circumspection" that endangers the well-being or property of others. If you plead guilty to a charge of careless driving, two points will be assessed against your driver's license.

Challenging A Charge Of Reckless Or Careless Driving

An officer may ticket your for reckless or careless driving because you passed a slow-driving motorist, were talking on a cellphone while exceeding the speed limit, or because you ignored a crosswalk. However, there may be extenuating circumstances which justify reducing or dismissing the charge itself. At the criminal defense law office of Mark M. Cheser, we have the experience and resources needed to challenge charges of reckless or careless driving.

To schedule a free consultation to discuss your case, contact reckless driving attorney Mark M. Cheser today.