Driving On A Revoked/Suspended License

New Jersey law does not recognize a difference between revoked and suspended licenses. We are often successful defending clients against charges of driving on a revoked or suspended driver's license.

If There's A Way Out, We'll Find It
Call Mark M. Cheser Toll Free: 1-866-456-9864

The penalties upon conviction are rather serious:

  • A first offense carries a mandatory $500 fine and a license suspension of up to six months.
  • A second offense carries a mandatory one to five days in jail, a $750 fine and up to six months of license suspension.
  • A third offense carries a mandatory 10 days in jail, a $1,000 fine and a license suspension.
  • All convictions result in a surcharge of $250 per year for three years to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
  • Enhanced penalties of mandatory 10-90 days in jail, one- to two-year license suspension and a $500 fine are imposed for driving while revoked for a DWI violation. The penalties for driving while revoked for a no-insurance violation are the same but do not have the mandatory jail time.
  • If there is an accident and someone is injured, regardless of fault, there is a mandatory 45-180 days in jail.
  • Additional penalties for CDLs.

Many of our clients waited out a period of suspension and then began to drive. However, many people do not realize that they must have their license formally reinstated before they are able to drive legally again.

Suspensions may arise from:

  • Failure to appear in Court
  • Failure to pay suspension fines
  • Failure to pay surcharges
  • Failure to pay parking tickets
  • Accumulated points

We can provide a defense against all of these issues.

Mark M. Cheser is a certified criminal trial lawyer with more than 35 years of experience who is dedicated to helping people throughout Central New Jersey. If you have been charged with driving after a license suspension or revocation, please contact Mark M. Cheser, Esquire, Counselor at Law, to arrange a free consultation and case evaluation. For more information, see our article about driving on a revoked or suspended license.